Groundwater Management Area 12 (GMA-12)

Groundwater Management Area 12 (GMA-12)Groundwater Management Area 12 (GMA-12)

GMA-12 is a management area established by the State to manage the groundwater resources within a 14 county area over the Carrizo-Wilcox Aquifer Group, Sparta, Queen City, Yegua-Jackson, Brazos River Alluvium and Colorado River Alluvium aquifers.  There are five Groundwater Conservation Districts (GCD).   The  GCDs are mandated by law to work cooperatively together to establish desired future conditions (DFCs) for the aquifers within the GMA-12 territorial boundaries.

GMA-12 consists of the following groundwater districts & counties:

Brazos Valley Groundwater Conservation District
Brazos & Robertson counties
Fayette County Groundwater Conservation District
Fayette County
Lost Pines Groundwater Conservation District
Bastrop & Lee counties
Mid-East Texas Groundwater Conservation District
Freestone, Leon & Madison counties
Post Oak Savannah Groundwater Conservation District
Burleson & Milam counties

The other counties that are not within a groundwater district include: Falls, Limestone, Navarro, and Williamson. For these counties, the Judge is the contact point for participation in the process because counties have the authority to establish county subdivision rules that can have groundwater management implications.